Happy New Year

Today on New Year’s Day 2013, I begin a new blog.  🙂

I would like to share more of my day-to-day experiences, the things I’ve learned, the paths I choose, and the whys of my life.

I have a good life.  Often I feel it is a wonderful life.  At times it is not so wonderful.  But it is still life, with all the ups and downs that life brings with it.

It’s been chilly the last couple of days.  Yesterday hubby built a fire in our fireplace to help warm our home.  I love having a fireplace and would never consider buying a home without one.  Course, I do love living where you get all 4 seasons.  So a fireplace has come in handy many times.

As we went out front to look at the car and why it has been whining in the cold the last week or so, hubby looked up at our chimney and said, “Look!  Do you know what the smoke signals are saying?  They’re saying, ‘Come to [this house] for roasted marshmallows in 2 hours!'”  (By then the fire will have died down enough to make excellent coals for roasting marshmallows.)  He does make me laugh!

It’s a lazy day today.  We did stay up last night to see the new year in, then slept in this morning.  And I did get on the Nordic Track for 30 minutes.  Yea!  Around Christmas it inevitably disappears, or rather becomes inaccessible, sometimes for weeks.  So it’s always nice to get it dug out, dust it off, and get back on the thing.  30 minutes isn’t bad for the first time back on it.  What I really need though, is to find a good time to use it on days when I go to work.  Sigh…

I loved it when I was a housewife (then homemaker, then stay-at-home mom, then whatever the term is nowadays)!  I’d give the kids who were home lunch, then put them down for naptime, or quiet time, and I’d change clothes and get on the Nordic Track for an hour.  I had it set up in the livingroom.  I would watch something good that I had recorded on our VCR (the good stuff is always on when you’re not available, isn’t it?)  I could fast forward through the commercials, and be interested enough in the show that I didn’t mind exercising a full hour.  Those were the days.

Anyway, back to today.  We watched part of the Rose parade, which is amazing with all their floats decorated entirely with flowers and other natural materials, and all beautiful.  I put a couple more Christmas things away that needed to find a home.  Dinner is planned, so I don’t need to stress about that.

One gift I receive every year is my new calendar for my day planner.  I chose a vertical weekly style this time.  I hope it will help me plan and accomplish more goals than just having the monthly style I’ve had the last couple of years.  So I need to decide how best to use it.  And I need to decide what my goals for this year will be.  Some of my activities are pre-determined, i.e. my job; my calling in the Church (I belong to The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints) as pianist in the Primary; my family activities and events, etc.  Well, I’ll give it some thought, definitely some prayer (I’m a big believer in the power of prayer!), and some discussion with my loved ones.  I want to be courageous with my goals this year.  And we’ll see how those blank pages become filled by the end of this year!

What are some of the goals you are setting for this year?

Leave a Reply

