New Year’s Update

A typical meetinghouse of the church

A typical meetinghouse of the church (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It’s one week since New Year‘s Day.  So how is everything going?

Traffic is back to normal.  😦

I have exercised on my Nordic Track for 30 minutes every day (60 on Saturday)!  🙂  I’ve done it in the mornings, by getting up a little quicker instead of taking my time getting up when the alarm rings – I didn’t set the alarm any earlier.

Still figuring out the best way to use my new calendar, but definitely making some progress on that front.  🙂

The fireplace has been sitting unused as the weather has warmed up a little this week.  Beloved hubby cleaned it out today.  Now it’s ready for this weekend when snow and cold (17 to 20 degrees for the highs) are expected.  😦 to 🙂

And I believe we still have marshmallows to roast over that fire!  🙂

I am enjoying this new blog, and the new features WordPress started have added quite a bit to my posts.  🙂

Goal-wise I haven’t set a bunch of specific things yet.  I might not.  I have exercised more.  I have also been reading a few minutes in the scriptures every day.  I do some morning stretches before I get out of bed, and once in a while some evening stretches before getting into bed, that I learned from the book “Stretching for Dummies” by LaReine Chabut and Madeline Lewis (I do hope to learn and incorporate more from them).  I am also re-reading the book, “Getting Things Done” by David Allen.  I discovered his book a few years ago and found it extremely helpful.  And I review it every year or so to improve how well I follow his ideas.

Church starts at 9am this year.  That’s a big change from the 1pm schedule we had last year.  But when you have 3 wards (congregations) using one building then you all take turns.  So we alternate the 9am-12pm, 11am-2pm, and 1pm-4pm schedules.  I don’t really mind that much.  I’m so thankful to be a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, and my parents set such a strong example for me, that I will do whatever is needed and reap the associated blessings.  My testimony of the truthfulness of the Church is not dependent on when the meetings are held, who else is going or not going to church, or even if someone says or does something that I disagree with.  Which means that I am in a comfortable place, and feel at peace in my heart (even when everything around me is in total commotion!)  🙂

I’m still the pianist in Primary.  And with the new year all the primary children move up a class.  Most of the teachers are reassigned to different age groups than the one they last taught.  But they take it in stride and don’t mind too much.  When you feel inadequate to the job, you turn to the Lord and to the Primary Presidency and ask for help and support until you get the hang of it.  And it is fun to watch the children learn and grow.  And to see their siblings get old enough to attend and see how they are different and the same as their older siblings.  🙂

Yes, life is pretty good right now!  🙂

Leave a Reply

