Home Sick

English: Statue representing Peter, James, and...

English: Statue representing Peter, James, and John conferring the Melchizedek Priesthood to Joseph Smith and Oliver Cowdery (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

It’s the second day of being home, not feeling too well.  Though I do feel better today than I did yesterday.  I wasn’t sure if it was a cold, sinus thing, or even just allergies getting the best of me.  Stuffy nose, no sore throat or coughing.

 

So I rested, tried medications, and finally (why is it sometimes the last thing I try?) asked beloved hubby to give me a husband’s blessing.  I’m so glad he holds the Melchizedek Priesthood and has the power and authority of God to be able to do that for me!  It’s just like when Jesus was alive on the earth and blessed the sick.  He also gave His authority to his apostles so they could do the same thing.  And that same priesthood power has been brought back to the earth in our day.

 

We have been so blessed by the priesthood.  Marriage in the temple of God not just till death do you part, but for time and all eternity!  Blessing of babies – not baptism because, as Moroni 8:8-11 says:

 

“8 aListen to the words of Christ, your Redeemer, your Lord and your God. Behold, I came into the world not to call the righteous but sinners to repentance; the bwhole need no physician, but they that are sick; wherefore, little cchildren are dwhole, for they are not capable of committing esin; wherefore the curse of fAdam is taken from them in me, that it hath no power over them; …

 

 9 And after this manner did the Holy Ghost manifest the word of God unto me; wherefore, my beloved son, I know that it is solemnamockery before God, that ye should baptize little children.

 

 10 Behold I say unto you that this thing shall ye teach—repentance and baptism unto those who are aaccountable and capable of committing sin; yea, teach parents that they must repent and be baptized, and humble themselves as their littlebchildren, and they shall all be saved with their little children.

 

 11 And their little achildren need no repentance, neither baptism. Behold, baptism is unto repentance to the fulfilling the commandments unto the bremission of sins.”

 

This is a beautiful truth that we learn from the Book of Mormon.  Heavenly Father wanted us to know the truth of these things and set in motion, thousands of years ago, the process so we would have these truths today!

 

 

Leave a Reply

