Come With Me To Church!

Knowing that Mom and Dad would probably soon be going to the hospital to have the baby, I offered to take the kids to church with me.  Why bother going to church?  Why worry about it at a time such as this?

That thought crossed my mind as I text messaged the invitation, so as not to disturb this precious yet precarious time in their lives.

Going to church has always been very important to me.  I was raised that way.  You go every week.  You just don’t skip going.  You only miss if you or someone you have to care for is ill.  As a matter of fact, if we went on vacation over the Sabbath, we found the local meetinghouse and attended there.

The benefits of doing this have been astounding.  There is, in fact, a synergetic relationship between going to church and living the commandments of God and the attendant blessings that are bestowed.  And this is because, as it says in the Doctrine and Covenants 130:20-21, “There is a law, irrevocably decreed in heaven before the foundations of this world, upon which all blessings are predicated – and when we obtain any blessing from God, it is by obedience to that law upon which it is predicated.”

One of the benefits I have been blessed with in my life is a steadfast belief in God, our Father in Heaven; never wavering, no matter what the ever-changing and shifting philosophies of society’s latest craze tried to espouse.  I never had to wonder if what was being proclaimed by the news, media, government or social group was truth or not.  I could weigh it against the steadfast teachings of the gospel as taught in the scriptures, the Prophet of God, and in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and know for myself whether it was true or not.  I could pray to a loving God who blessed every one of His children with the Light of Christ so each of them could know for themselves, if they would humble themselves and ask Him in faith.

Moroni 7:16 in the Book of Mormon says:

“16 For behold, the aSpirit of Christ is given to every bman, that he may cknow good from evil; wherefore, I show unto you the way to judge; for every thing which inviteth to do good, and to persuade to believe in Christ, is sent forth by the power and gift of Christ; wherefore ye may know with a perfect knowledge it is of God.

 17 But whatsoever thing persuadeth men to do aevil, and believe not in Christ, and deny him, and serve not God, then ye may know with a perfect knowledge it is of the devil; for after this manner doth the devil work, for he persuadeth no man to do good, no, not one; neither do his angels; neither do they who subject themselves unto him.

 18 And now, my brethren, seeing that ye know the alight by which ye may judge, which light is the light of Christ, see that ye do not judge wrongfully; for with that same bjudgment which ye judge ye shall also be judged.”

I invite you too, to “come to church with me” and feel the things I have felt, learn the things I have learned, and receive the blessings I have received!

 

Leave a Reply

