Two Missionaries of .

Two Missionaries of . (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I hope you had a good week.  It is amazing to me how the weeks fly by.  We’re doing pretty well.

The sign language song went very well.  We did it in the chapel as usual.  Then we went to several of the floors throughout the hospital and did it at the nurses’ stations.  I thought it was interesting what the people’s reactions were.  Most just kind of seemed to go on with their work, and some stopped what they were doing to listen and to watch.  A couple even clapped.  But all 3 of us loved doing it.

Today has been a kind of quiet day, but I’m feeling a bit discombobulated.  As I think about it, I think it’s because some issues came up today that I haven’t been able to resolve but feel they should be resolved quickly.  It can be hard when you have to wait for someone to do something that you need for your boss and you don’t know when they’ll get to it.  So I figure I’ll give them a day or so, then remind them.  Also I was playing a CD on my computer from an LDS group, Mercy River.  I was in the other room and a co-worker asked if we could turn off my music.  It didn’t seem very loud to me, but I guess maybe when she came out to help someone it must have interfered with their talking.  I don’t mind turning it off, but I feel kind of funny about the situation.

I do think that Satan tries to make us feel unsure or uncomfortable about things so that we aren’t as close to each other as we could be.  Questions pop into your mind and if you don’t kick them out, you soon start wondering if things are different than what they really are.  I do think that’s one reason it’s important to talk with people.  To check things out with them, so that misunderstandings can be cleared up as quickly as possible before much damage is done.  And we have to be careful what we buy into. One of the talks in church on Sunday was wonderful.  A lot of it was from Preach My Gospel.  A few things she said really stood out for me: ·         We should talk to everyone.  We never know what seed might be planted [and I’ve found that sometimes others are listening and can glean information too] or what they might be looking for.  It has also occurred to me since then that we can be so much more encouraging and friendly than we sometimes are.  i.e. instead of just walking down the hall ignoring people, or even just smiling and saying hi, I can give a compliment when I notice something good about them, or I can strike up a conversation with the person I’m standing next to, even just a friendly little chat. ·         When others are talking, we should listen to them and not think about what we’ll say back to them.  This is hard, but Heavenly Father has promised that He will give us what we need in the very hour that we need it.  We need to trust Him and let Him work through us. It was a very inspirational talk and helped me want to try a little harder and not give up.  I just love her. Yesterday the April church magazines came, so I brought the Ensign with me to read on the shuttle.  In the first article, by President Eyring, he said something that really made me think, “In the sacramental prayers, God promises to send the Holy Ghost to be with us…I have found in that moment that God can give me what feels like a personal interview.  He brings to my attention what I have done that pleases Him, my need for repentance and forgiveness, and the names and faces of people He would have me serve for Him.”  Wow, that just caught my eye!  And how much more meaningful would the sacrament be if we approached it this way.  I hope to try to do this going forward, and not just during the sacrament.  I think it would be great to do this every day! Well, have a great week!  We love you very much.

 

Leave a Reply

