Memorable Day

English: A monument commemorating the restorat...

English: A monument commemorating the restoration of the Aaronic priesthood, which is located in Oakland Township, Pennsylvania, United States (historically Harmony Township). The monument was placed at the Aaronic Priesthood Restoration Site in 1960 by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

We had several inches of snow yesterday, so a friend gave me a ride to church.  She said she was glad to do it and that she enjoyed the company as she usually goes alone.  She drives right past my house on her way to church.  She is such a sweet lady and a good friend.

 

Sacrament meeting was wonderful as usual.

 

I must say that sitting in the back as I have the last few weeks certainly gives me a different perspective that sitting up front as we have always done.  I would say that anyone who has a difficult time at church and sits in the back, rather than not going back, try sitting up front.  You don’t get all the noise and commotion, you can actually hear the person talking, you never have to worry about what people are thinking about you because you have almost no idea who is there and who isn’t – especially when you have to hurry to Primary to play the piano, or to class to teach!  🙂

 

In Primary we’re learning a wonderful song, “A Child’s Prayer”.

 

“Heavenly Father, are you really there?
And do you hear and answer ev’ry child’s prayer?
Some say that heaven is far away,
But I feel it close around me as I pray.
Heavenly Father, I remember now
Something that Jesus told disciples long ago:
‘Suffer the children to come to me.’
Father, in prayer I’m coming now to thee.

 

“Pray, he is there;
Speak, he is list’ning.
You are his child;
His love now surrounds you.
He hears your prayer;
He loves the children.
Of such is the kingdom, the kingdom of heav’n.”

 

Words and music: Janice Kapp Perry, b. 1938

 

© 1984 by Janice Kapp Perry. This song may be copied for incidental, noncommercial church or home use.

 

It’s a beautiful song, and you always feel the spirit of God when you hear – or read – it.  What a wonderful blessing from Heavenly Father, such beautiful, moving songs to stir our souls and help us realize that He is real!

 

After church I was able to watch as my son ordained his son to the office of Priest in the Aaronic Priesthood.  The blessing he gave was that of a loving father who knows his son and what he is facing, what he is capable of, what he can do, what he should be watchful of, and inspired by God.  It was a spiritual and memorable experience, and I’m so glad to have witnessed it.  Afterwards I suggested to my grandson that he take a few minutes to write down what he remembers from the blessing when he gets home.  It can guide and direct him in the days and even years ahead.

 

A memorable day indeed!

 

Leave a Reply

