Eventful Days

English: Statue representing Peter, James, and...

English: Statue representing Peter, James, and John conferring the Melchizedek Priesthood to Joseph Smith and Oliver Cowdery (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

These last couple days have been quite eventful.

Yesterday morning hubby was feeling the effects of being out 2 hours the day before.  So we had a slow morning getting ready for the day. I was fasting for a child who has seizures a couple times a day – despite all of the medical attempts at getting them to stop.  He’s getting ready for the final step.  Since I found out about him my heart has gone out to him and his loved ones.  I’ve been praying for them, and for his medical team.  So I added fasting to my prayers to invoke greater blessings from our loving Father in Heaven.

And, as I said, things were going a bit slowly.  We got done what we needed to, and it made me about 1/2 hour late for church.  I debated skipping sacrament meeting altogether, staying home a little longer, and just going for Primary.  But I decided to go ahead and go and either slip in late for the meeting, or play some songs on the piano in the Primary room until the kids came.

After I parked and started walking to the building, I suddenly remembered that I had been asked, 2 weeks ago, to give the closing prayer in sacrament meeting!  Oh my.  Well, I knew then where I was going.  I slipped into an empty seat on the back row so as not to cause any commotion going to our usual spot up on the 2nd row.  As the member of the bishopric who was conducting was announcing the closing song and prayer, I was watching him intently.  He was looking around, unsure about saying who was giving the closing prayer.  I guess he didn’t see me come in.  I found myself raising my hand, but he still didn’t notice.  Then I started waving my hand trying to catch his attention.  Luckily, being on the back row I don’t think too many people noticed what I was doing (this is not normal “church” behavior – well, except maybe for the toddlers).  He finally saw me and announced that I’d given him a fright as I was not sitting in my usual spot, and that I was giving the closing prayer.

After church I went home to collect hubby and go to the ward where our new little granddaughter would be given a name and a blessing.  It does a woman proud to witness such special times as this.  Our son took his new little daughter to the front of the chapel.  He was joined by a few men, family and friends who also hold the Melchizedek Priesthood.  Our son held his daughter and the others stood in a little circle around her placing their right hands under his and their left hands on the shoulder of the man next to him.  Our son then said a prayer, giving her her name and then pronouncing a blessing upon her.

It was such a beautiful moment!  In the circle were my husband, and another son.  This is part of the joy of the true gospel as found in true church!  This is part of the weaving of families together, tying them closer to each other.  It is wonderful to know that children are born innocent and without sin.  They have no need of baptism.  They are baptized at 8 years of age, when they have reached the age of accountability and know right from wrong.  And best of all, to know what happens to children who die before the age of 8: “And I also beheld that all children who die before they arrive at the years of accountability are saved in the celestial kingdom of heaven” (Doctrine and Covenants 137:10).  What a glorious message that is!  And exactly the type of thing you expect from an all-powerful God who loves all of His children!

It was a beautiful and moving service.

Then on to our house to visit and eat.  Children playing together, and learning to get along.  Adults enjoying each others’ company, catching up on our lives, sharing ideas and food.  Poor hubby swallowing wrong or something, and coughing up a storm!  He finally recovered.

Or so we thought.  He had pain on his inside thigh.  Later after taking his night pills and an extra pain pill, the torturous pain was still there, and he could hardly stand up or sit down.  As it looked like we would be making yet another run to the local ED (emergency department), I started worrying about spending all night there, having to take time off work to recover or to be there with him, wondering why these things always happen at night or on weekends, and getting a bit cranky…

Then I realized he certainly can’t help what happened, and there have been many times that we’ve done this type of thing (and survived it), and that I should be looking at it from his side rather than worrying about myself.  So I calmed down, and we went to the hospital.

Exempla Saint Joseph Hospital is a great place.  Things actually moved along at a decent clip, considering we were in an ED.  The doctor who came in remembered hubby from previously!  As he walked in, he asked if we were there for pneumonia again.  We explained why we were there this time.  He ran some test to discover the problem, but it didn’t seem to be a rupture as we’d suspected.  Then he said that hubby’s history is that when he comes to the hospital he is usually admitted.  Therefore, he didn’t want to miss something.  And he ordered additional tests.

Finally he had a pretty good idea what was going on and that some anti-inflammatories and time would help it heal.  He did want to keep hubby there for observation to be sure, and to run a couple more tests.

After getting hubby settled in his room, I left…about 6am.  Heavenly Father was definitely helping me as I drove home.  I went straight to bed and slept a few hours.

It’s a snowy day, so it was a good day to take off work.  I called the family to fill them in, visited with a couple via long-distance, took some time to have a good talk with Heavenly Father, decided it was a good day to bake, so found my wheat grinder and got some of my wheat from my food storage in the basement, ground it into wheat flour, and made a couple loaves of homemade bread!

It has been an eventful couple of days.  And how glad I am to have a kind, loving Father in Heaven Who goes through it all with me – the good and the bad – and rejoices, or mourns, with me.  I am truly blessed to know Him and for inviting Him into my life.  🙂

Leave a Reply

