Getting Back Into the Swing of Things

It’s been a while since I wrote.  I see WordPress has made some changes.  I’ll have to explore them sometime.

But right now I don’t have much time and I want to catch up a little.

Hubby was feeling better than the last couple years, and we ended up going on vacation to see family.  He made the car trip pretty well, and we had a pretty good time there.  I got to see most of my family, which was very nice.  We made it back OK, but since then he hasn’t been feeling as well, tiring more easily, and so forth.  It’s difficult to watch his ups and downs.  I keep hoping if he gets enough rest he will start bouncing back….

We’re watching some shows on HULU l.  It is a good one.

We’ve been scrambling to get ready for our son to return from his mission.  He’ll be home a full 3 days before he’s off to college at Brigham Young University in Utah.  There’s so much to do, and to worry about.

We helped our kids move over the weekend.  It was great to see them pull together and help each other.  But it was a long day, there were some issues (what move doesn’t have some problems?), and I plan NEVER to move out of my house!  I was tired, sore, and rather emotional by the end of the day.

But even as I waffled between irritation and tears, Heavenly Father was reminding me that I didn’t have to feel either way.  He kept (and I say kept because I was having a difficult time determining which way I was going to feel and what, if anything, I was going to do about it) telling me this was an opportunity to overcome a difficult circumstance and that I could do it.  It’s not easy.  And the natural reaction certainly isn’t to let it go, to calm down, or to move on.  So I tried to set my feelings aside to be mulled over at a later time when I could fully give them room without being so vulnerable in front of everyone.

We got through it, and I’ve calmed down considerably.  Everything is not resolved in my own mind yet.  And I mull over possible options and whether I really should pursue any of them.  Perhaps the best thing is to simply convey my discontent here, and the process I’m using to come to terms with the situation.  Time heals all wounds, so perhaps that is the best course of action, or non-action in this case.

Just as a toddler who keeps falling as he is learning to walk, but ALWAYS gets back up to try again, I too will continue to get up and try again until I finally succeed!

 

Leave a Reply

