Thankful for the Priesthood

English: Statue representing John the Baptist ...

English: Statue representing John the Baptist confering the priesthood to Joseph Smith and Oliver Cowdery. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Today I am especially thankful for the priesthood in my life.

 

Last night I was feeling a little under the weather – tired, some aches and pains, and a bit overwhelmed.  I didn’t think too much of it and got ready for bed.  Beloved hubby asked how I felt and I told him.  He asked if I would like a husband’s blessing.

 

I hadn’t thought of asking for one, so I was glad he thought of it.  I said, “Sure.”  He placed his hands on my head and proceeded to pronounce a most beautiful blessing upon me!  It lifted my soul and caused my heart to rejoice.  I now look forward to the good I can do in the coming months.

 

And today we attended our grandson’s baptism.  He just turned 8, so is old enough to be baptized.  He asked his older brother to baptize him.  And he looks forward to being able to baptize his baby sister when she turns 8 and he becomes old enough to be ordained a Priest in the Aaronic Priesthood.  I think that is very cute.  🙂  After his baptism, his father confirmed him a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and gave him the gift of the Holy Ghost.  He can now have the constant companionship of the Holy Ghost.  It is a wonderful blessing that members receive.

 

Later, after returning home, it looked like rain and i wanted to move the riding mower off the lawn.  But I couldn’t find the key.  Beloved hubby suggested we pray for help, which he did.  In his prayer he explained that he had lost the key and that we needed to find it, and humbly asked for the Lord’s help.  When the prayer was finished, we started looking again.  He found it in about 30 seconds!  He is convinced that because he took full responsibility for having lost it, that Heavenly Father helped him find it so quickly.

 

And tomorrow, being the first Sunday of the month, is Fast Sunday.  Fasting is also a great blessing from God.  I have received many extra blessings because of the law of the fast.  I do have such a blessed life!

 

 

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Thoughts on the Arronic Priesthood | Thoughts on last Sunday

  2. Pingback: Thoughts on my Baptism and Confirmation | Thoughts on last Sunday

Leave a Reply

