Visiting Teaching Waffle

I am so thankful for my Visiting Teaching companion!

This month was moving right along.  Last month we asked each of our sisters what the best ways are to contact them.  So I put a couple of them to use.  One day I was thinking about them, so I called each and left a voice message (I didn’t catch any of them).  And I sent them Halloween cards to brighten their day.

Additionally my Visiting Teaching companion called them and left voice messages asking when a good time to stop by and visit with them would be.  She did reach one sister, had a nice little chat, but found out that there was so much going on that there would not be a good time to visit her in person this month.

My Visiting Teaching companion and I discussed what our availability was to go visit them.  There was one day we could make it, but we hadn’t heard back from them about their availability.  We reviewed what we’d done so far, and I suggested perhaps we had done enough and could not worry about trying to stop by.

My companion hesitated.  I almost ignored it and restated my thought.

But then I stopped and listened to her.  She again brought up that she thought maybe we ought to give it a try and just stop by to see if we can catch them.  I said OK.

The following day as I thought about it I felt great gratitude for my companion.  It would have been so easy to agree and say that we’d done quite a bit and surely that would be good enough this month.  But she wasn’t comfortable with that.  And I knew I shouldn’t be either.

Thank you, my companion!  🙂

Leave a Reply

