The Grass is Always Greener

The grass is always greener on the other side of the fence.

So the saying goes. 

But…

is it true?

Hmmm, as I stand here on my side and look across the fence to the other side, what do I see?

Well, the grass over there sure does look nice.  Maybe not perfect, but definitely nice. 

And compared to what is behind and around me as I stare wistfully over at my neighbor’s side, my side leaves MUCH to be desired! 

  • There are so many dry and bare spots.
  • The grass that is here is so thin, and forlorn-looking.
  • It has such a long way to go be even be presentable!
  • I see weeds.  Here.  There.  Oh my, they’re everywhere.  😦
  • My grass is an embarrassment.
  • I just can’t make it look like my neighbor’s…

So,

it must be true.

The grass is always greener on the other side of the fence. 

Woe is me.  I can never win.

But wait.

Where is the grass always greener?

Quite actually, the answer is completely obvious!

The grass is greenest where it is watered the most.

Now there is food for thought.

What in our lives could use a little more watering?  🙂

Leave a Reply

