Stress Makes You Forget Things

I had quite the stressful week last week.  I got caught up in world events, and had an incredibly difficult family emergency come up.

As I was dealing with the thoughts and feelings that these things brought on, the world started to look darker and darker.  I had difficulty sleeping.  My days were filled with worries and prayer.

Little bits of help came through here and there.  Reaching out to the family in need, talking things over with Beloved hubby, running across a couple good quotes or messages, such as: “If you can’t sleep, then get up and do something instead of lying there and worrying.  It’s the worry that gets you, not the loss of sleep.” – Dale Carnegie (from the daily Franklin Planner).

But I continued to feel worried and stressed.  I tried contacting people I thought could help, but the miracle answer wasn’t forthcoming.

Finally, yesterday morning, the thing I had forgotten was sent to me as a text: fast and pray.

I was dumbfounded.

Usually I am the first to think of fasting when great problems arise.  But this particular week it had not even crossed my mind. 

I started to relax a little already.

Fasting has helped me through some tough problems in my life.  And it is helping me now.

Additionally, when I went to church yesterday, almost everything seemed specially ordered to help me:

  • Another friend to share my concerns with was there.
  • A missionary who is leaving our area today spoke about how he has learned that the Atonement of Jesus Christ will help us through our sorrows and difficulties in life.
  • One speaker talked about having a sure foundation in our lives, that we need to check our foundations and make sure they aren’t cracked or crumbling, and if they are, we should quickly repair or replace it correctly through repentance or whatever is needed rather than trying to ignore or cover up the problem, and to accept and build our lives around the foundation that is always there for us – faith in the Lord, Jesus Christ.  It was very inspirational!
  • In Primary the lesson was about how the Atonement of Jesus Christ has helped several different people, including Saul in the New Testament and Alma the Younger in the Book of Mormon who both had fought against the church of Christ but then repented and became great missionaries, and even Enos in the Book of Mormon who was a good man and remembered the teachings of his father so asked God for forgiveness and received forgiveness for his sins because of the Atonement of Christ.

All these things have helped bouy me up, and though the concerns of last week are not resolved, I am happier and have a greater hope in Christ and the difference His Atonement makes in our lives.  🙂

Leave a Reply

