The Power of One

Can one person really make a difference? 

I am here to tell you that yes, one person can make a difference!

When we speak up against something that is wrong, even though it is something that is becoming more widespread and more common because people always have to “push the envelope”, it lets others know that it is inappropriate.

This happened to me not too long ago.  When I first communicated the problem, the response I got back was your standard, “we don’t mean to offend anyone, we are just advertising our new product” answer.

Disappointing.

Not unexpected.  That seems to be par for our day.  People don’t want to bother with someone who disagrees with them.

But as I thought about it, I determined that I was not going to simply leave it at that and give up.

So I sent back my own response.  “I am confused.  Please tell me how that picture advertises your new product.”

The picture had nothing to do with the new product, so I wondered how they would respond.  I also pointed out that it costs 100 times as much to get back a “customer” as it does to keep them in the first place.  And a couple other points as well.  Beloved hubby suggested I close with, “I look forward to talking with you about this at your earliest convenience.”

Whatever it was, something about this response did the trick. 

Not only did I receive a phone call, but they agreed that they could have used a more appropriate picture and will watch what they put in their newsletter in the future.

Wow!  The power of one.  🙂

Leave a Reply

