Sundays

Today is Sunday.  I like Sundays.

Sunday is special.

All the other days of the week are crowded with work, activity, and worries.  I go to work, run errands, try to keep up the house, meet the demands of daily living and deal with countless things that crop up throughout the week.

Whew!

But Sunday is different.

(Oh wow!  I just popped over to lds.org to copy and paste a scripture to put in here, and they say there’s a special, worldwide devotional for young adults streaming at 6pm MST!  Trust me, you do not HAVE to be a young adult to enjoy this broadcast.  Anyone will find it a perfect way to top off the day.  You’ll find encouragement, inspiration, and love in abundance, and you’ll be glad you went there!  And of course the really great thing is, you can go to the website and watch it anytime thereafter as well.)

Now, here’s the scripture:

“Remember the sabbath day, to keep it holy.

“Six days shalt thou labour, and do all thy work:

“But the seventh day is the sabbath of the Lord thy God: in it thou shalt not do any work, thou, nor thy son, nor thy daughter, thy manservant, nor thy maidservant, nor thy cattle, nor thy stranger that is within thy gates:

“For in six days the Lord made heaven and earth, the sea, and all that in them is, and rested the seventh day: wherefore the Lord blessed the Sabbath day, and hallowed it.” Exodus 20:8-11.

God showed us the way.  He did His work 6 days and then blessed and hallowed the seventh and He rested.

So on Sundays I do not do the things I do all the other days of the week.

“But remember that on this, the Lord’s day, thou shalt offer thine oblations and thy sacraments unto the Most High, confessing thy sins unto thy brethren, and before the Lord.

“And on this day thou shalt do none other thing, only let thy food be prepared with singleness of heart that thy fasting may be perfect, or, in other words, that thy joy may be full.

“Verily, this is fasting and prayer, or in other words, rejoicing and prayer.” Doctrine and Covenants 59:12-14.

On Sundays I go to church with my family to learn more about the life of Jesus Christ and how I can better follow His example, to feel the Spirit of God, and to partake of the sacrament and renew the covenants I made when I was baptized.  It is a day perfect to add fasting to my prayers when I need a special blessing or help in my life, and to fast once a month and give the money saved to the Church to help the poor.

In return I receive many blessings.  I find that on Monday I am ready for another week of work, activities, errands, keeping up with the house, and worries.  I have more energy and I feel refreshed, like my cup has been filled.  I forgive myself for little errors and feel Heavenly Father with me more.  My heart is softened and I can see the needs of others more readily, and respond more willingly.

In short, my life has been richly blessed by my observance of the Sabbath Day!  🙂

Leave a Reply

