Callingless

Callingless.  Are you wondering what that means?

In The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints everyone serves.

We have a lay clergy, so the bishop and even the stake president have regular jobs and handle all their many church responsibilities as “volunteers” on the side.  They don’t get paid for their church service and they serve for a few years and then someone else is “called” to that particular position.

It works that way with all but the uppermost callings in the entire Church.

I have had many different callings in the Church.  You know that most recently I served in the Primary as the pianist.  I loved this calling!  I loved being with the children, watching them learn and grow, feeling the Spirit of God through their heartfelt singing and the sharing of choice experiences they have already had in their tender, young lives.

Now I’ve been “released” from that calling, and am waiting to see what my next calling will be…

I have not been without a calling (I call it ‘callingless’) very often.  It’s actually kind of an odd feeling, having grown up in the Church and not only being involved but also seeing my family and friends very involved in many different positions.

As I patiently (all right, sometimes not so patiently) wait to see what Heavenly Father has in store for me next, I can clearly see the value of every member participating.  It is when we participate with something that we feel more a part of it.  It gives us purpose in life, kind of like working does.

And, because often the calling feels above our reach and/or outside our comfort zone, our callings help us to humble ourselves and turn to Heavenly Father to ask for His guidance.  Some very choice blessings, talents, and friendships have come about in my own life because of that very inspired process.  Weak things have been made strong, my relationship with God has increased, and I have seen marvelous things happen as I diligently strove to faithfully fulfill my callings and do them as my Father in Heaven would want me to.

So, I am looking forward to getting a new calling soon, though I think it may stretch and challenge me, so in the meantime I am praying for the Lord’s blessings and strength to be able to learn quickly and be inspired to fulfill it as He would do if He were here.

How thankful I am for callings in the Church!  🙂

Leave a Reply

