Remember

Our Christmas tree is still up.  Why?  Because we are still noticing it!

Our thoughts on the matter have always been that we put it up early to help bring the spirit of Christmas into our home, and we leave it up until we notice that we aren’t noticing it anymore.  (obviously it is not a real tree)

I love having it up.  It is so beautiful.  Its effect softens me as I look at it.

The other morning I had a moment while I was waiting for something or other, and I lite the Christmas tree lights and just stood, gazing at it.

Seeing the colorful lights, the silver/white and gold garlands, the shiny and varied ornaments caused wonderful stirrings within my soul.

Then I started noticing the individual ornaments.

Remember the kids when they were young?  There’s one with the whole Primary class, teacher included.  What a nice idea.

There’s one I sent to my father while I was on my mission in the country where he was born.  What a sweet remembrance it brought, I’m glad I inherited it.

There are a couple given to our family by my parents.  Every one of us received one of the cute little animals doing different things plastic “toy” ornaments.

Here are some shiny ones we got our first Christmas.  We were afraid the tree would be pretty bare, but then my boss had brought some decorations to work he didn’t want anymore and we had enough to make the tree come alive.

There’s one that my mother-in-law made and gave us so many years ago.  And on and on and on!

Such nice memories! What a beautiful way to remember the good things that have happened.

This is why our Christmas tree is still up.  🙂

Leave a Reply

