I Missed My Friend! :(

We had a wonderful women’s conference on Saturday at Church.

I invited a friend of mine to go, letting her know what a wonderful conference it would be.  These conferences always make you feel so good, they give you hope for the future, gladness in the present, and are inspiring and uplifting!

She accepted and even thanked me for inviting her.  I gave her my phone number and told her to call me when she got there and I would come meet her.

I thought of her often on Saturday, praying for her, and looking around a little now and then while enjoying the wonderful lunch and the great classes.  I never did see her or get a phone call (I’d put it on vibrate and had it in my pocket.

But I picked up one of the pink bookmarks and handmade little hearts they’d made for us to take with us.  The heart is to keep in your purse or pocket and when you touch it, it reminds you that you are loved.  What a cute idea!

Later I went to see my friend and give her the little gifts.  To my surprise, when she saw me she said she had come there and even called me.  But it went to voice mail, so she just dropped off the canned goods she had bought (I totally forgot about that part of it until I arrived there).  😦

I can not believe I totally missed her!  I feel heart-broken.  I checked my phone and don’t see her number on there.

I feel just awful – and I’m vowing NEVER to put my phone on vibrate again!  Not that I use it much anyway, but to totally miss my friend.

I am devastated.  What can I do to keep that from happening again?  Perhaps I need to be paying a little more attention to what is going on around me.  I often go about in my own little world and don’t notice when someone is trying to reach out to me.  I’m too pre- or self-occupied and probably need to see outside my own little world more.

That is something I could try to work on and improve.  And I will keep her in my prayers for having overlooked her.

Leave a Reply

