I’ll Wait For You To Catch Up

I was humming along, working on the computer, when suddenly it kind of hiccupped and paused.  I took it in stride, paused my typing, and thought, “I’m too far ahead of you, I’ll wait for you to catch up to me.”  It didn’t take long, and soon I was humming along again.

That thought got me thinking.  It’s not just computers that we sometimes have to wait for.  And the words, “I’ll wait for you…” reminded me of a Primary song in Church.

The song is “I’ll Walk With You” by Carol Lynn Pearson:

“If you don’t walk as most people do,
Some people walk away from you,
But I won’t! I won’t!
If you don’t talk as most people do,
Some people talk and laugh at you,
But I won’t! I won’t!
I’ll walk with you. I’ll talk with you.
That’s how I’ll show my love for you.
Jesus walked away from none.
He gave his love to ev’ryone.
So I will! I will!
Jesus blessed all he could see,
Then turned and said, “Come, follow me.”
And I will! I will!
I will! I will!
I’ll walk with you. I’ll talk with you.
That’s how I’ll show my love for you.”
It is a cute little song, done in a fun and playful way that can really catch children’s imagination and attention.  It certainly has mine.
I love how it reminds us to be kind and thoughtful of those who are different, especially those who may need a little more time to get through things than we do.
It fits so well into so many aspects of life.  We can be patient with each other, kind to everyone, love people as the Savior did.
And not just that, but be patient with situations we’re in, with things that go wrong, computers that we occasionally outrun, all manner of life’s happenings!
Just pause, and it gets better for everyone.  🙂
Leave a Reply

