Choose Your Response

Recently things have been in an upheaval, and beloved hubby became a bit perturbed with me.  At first it caught me by surprise, and as we talked I found myself feeling defensive and hurt.

As my thoughts started flying (as thoughts are wont to do in such cases), they ran the gamut from indignant to confusion to dismay.  I started reacting in my usual fashion which is to emotionally withdraw, which was quickly followed by the old one, two punch – shut down!

I quickly realized this was not the road I wanted to travel on, as it can lead places I refuse to go.

So I started trying to think of alternatives.  And instead, I shed a few tears in another room, prayed for help, and worked on dinner.

By the time I returned, he had about forgotten the incident.  I thought about the things I’ve learned about relationships and understanding them more.  While it took some time for me to feel more balanced again, it did come, and much faster than if I’d continued down that “natural reaction” road!

It pays to choose your response.  🙂

Leave a Reply

