Memories of My Father

I received the most wondrous gift recently – a beautiful quilt made from my father’s shirts!

My wonderful sister-in-law collected came up with this thoughtful and creative idea.  She collected his shirts from my mother, along with some of her old dresses.

Then she went to work, putting together a patchwork quilt for my mother, as well as lap quilts for each of us kids.  It is truly remarkable!

As I look at it, I see my father’s work shirts, set together in patches of flannel here and scraps of broadcloth there.  She even found some material that had school buses on it and included 2 large sections of that.  He had driven a school bus for many, many years and everyone knows him as the bus driver.

And between the sections, she put little squares of my mother’s dresses.  I remember some of them.  Her special occasion and Sunday dresses, nice going places dresses, and workable house dresses – each played a role in her active and busy life.

Here are my father’s work shirts, his warmer shirts, his cooler shirts.  So many different colors, patterns, and textures.

And there, in beautiful plain white, are his best shirts – the ones he wore to church on Sundays, as he went off to complete a Priesthood assignment or give a blessing, or to go to the temple – The House of the Lord.  The sacred feelings that were stirred, seeing the white swatches were truly meaningful and reverent.

Leave a Reply

