Have You Voted Yet?

Beloved hubby and I voted yesterday for this year’s general election!  How I love early voting!

We’re done.  We have done our duty, taken advantage of the great freedoms we enjoy in this country, and honored the sacrifice of the tens of millions of military forces who paid the price, over 4 million of whom gave their lives, so we could have the privilege of voting for our elected officials, and in total secrecy to boot!

Of course we’re all inundated with hundreds of calls throughout any election year, all wanting to know who you are planning to vote for, and does knowing x, y, and/or z about some candidate change the way you feel about that candidate?  I have learned that much of this is fabricated and designed to make you feel a certain way about that candidate.  So I don’t fall for those lines.

And of course the ads, and the blustering of the candidates, always get ridiculously out of hand and uglier and more vile the closer Election Day comes.  It happens every time.  Those who are elected always have a division to try to bridge and heal.  It is the same old story played out with a different cast of characters every time.

So we get involved, check what the actual facts are, pray for Heavenly Father’s help for the candidates and guidance for us in choosing the best candidates, and make the best decision that we can.  And we vote.

And I have to chuckle.  As I hear about the polls and media trying to find out who people voted for, I remember what my mother said she tells them when they ask her, “That is private!  I don’t even let my husband know who I voted for!”

Voting is a privilege.  Make sure you take advantage of it.  🙂

Leave a Reply

