Happy Thanksgiving Eve!

It’s the evening before Thanksgiving.  We just finished watching Hallmark’s Operation Christmas, a warm and inspirational movie about helping our military families.

Watching it made me realize a lot more of what military families go through with their loved ones not only away from home but also in very dangerous situations.  It reminded me again of how very thankful I am to them and to all military personnel for the price they pay for the freedoms our country enjoys.

I am thankful to live in a country that has such great freedoms, and for the people and families who have given so much for us to have those freedoms.

At work they asked us to put together a PowerPoint slide of what we are thankful for.  I knew most people would mention the obvious things like their families and loved ones, etc.  So I decided to mention a few other things I am thankful for:

  • My knowledge of, and relationship with, Jesus Christ
  • My job
  • Modern medicine
  • Our country
  • Animals…not bugs…animals
  • Libraries

Additionally, at the beginning of the month I put several items in my workspace showing things I am thankful for:

  • My family
  • Blessings of the harvest
  • Family sitting down together for Thanksgiving dinner
  • Animals
  • My co-workers
  • Flowers
  • Our beautiful world
  • God and Jesus Christ
  • Prayer
  • Knowing that people we at first find fault with can become our dearest friends
  • Realizing that our choice of words and the language we use tells a lot about us

We bought some battery-operated candles and set them up in our room.  They add such a nice ambiance to the room.  I am surprised, perhaps it’s because we are close to the Christmas season, and we just watched that nice movie.

I have so much to give thanks to our Father in Heaven for!

What are you thankful for?

 

Leave a Reply

